Review and giveaway – The Beach House by Jane Green

by Valerie, Mom Knows It All

Some posts on this site contain an affiliate link. Clicking on an affiliate link does not increase the cost of the product if you buy it. It does mean that I MAY make a commission if you purchase the item. Affiliate links are used in an attempt to offset the operational costs incurred by running this website. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Beach House by Jane Green
ISBN: 0670018856
352 pages

The Beach House is set on Nantucket Island. The main character in the story is Nan, a 65 year old widow who most residents in the area think is crazy because she skinny dips in their pools and picks their flowers. When Nan finds herself out of money she decides to rent out rooms in her beach house rather than sell it. The house, Windermere, is worth millions and is the last thing she has left from her husband Everett who had committed suicide years before.

The residents all had separate lives before meeting at the beach house, and had not met prior to moving in. Daniel is the first to move in. He’s newly separated from his wife Bee and their two daughters, and is learning to live life for himself after hiding something from his wife. Daff is newly separated from her husband because he had an affair. Her troubled daughter Jess does also move into the beach house later in the story. Michael is Nan’s son. He moves back home to avoid the situation created by having an affair with his boss’ wife Jordana, who has a secret of her own. I was pleasantly surprised how well the author spun the threads of the different storylines into one big one. I was totally unprepared for the giant twist Ms. Green threw in towards the end. At the conclusion of the book the residents of the beach house have all become extended family.

In a recent conference call Ms. Green called this a character driven novel rather than a plot driven novel. I understand what she meant but must say the storylines she wrote made me want to turn the page and read more, so in that respect I’d say that I thought the book was plot driven as well. I told my Mom that I thought this book was about people discovering who they are and finding true happiness and peace in their lives. I found myself pleasantly surprised in that I’d enjoyed The Beach House more than I thought I would.  I recommend it as a light read and am looking forward to reading some more of Ms. Green’s books.

I’ve fortunate enough to have been offered to share this book with one of my readers, along with a custom beach towel and a beach bag. To enter just leave me a comment telling me if you’ve read any of Ms. Green’s books, and if so the title and if you recommend it. Feel free to take a look at Ms. Green’s website to learn more about her and the books she’s written, or to read her blog. This giveaway ends Saturday 08/16/08 at 11:59 pm est. US addresses only please. The winner will be selected using random.org. Good luck to all that enter!

THIS GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED.

You may also like

26 comments

Karen August 10, 2008 - 5:58 pm

I have not read any of Green’s books but it sounds like I would really like this one. I like books that aren’t too complicated. I read a chapter each night and so I have to be able to remember what I read the night before. That isn’t easy if the characters are hard to connect with. This sounds like one of my type of books.

Debbie August 12, 2008 - 3:00 pm

I haven’t read any of Ms. Green’s novels either but this sounds great. I’d also be interested in reading Second Chance. I think I’ll see if I can’t locate that one to start. Thanks for a great review.

Debbies last blog post..I’ll Have What She’s Having

Alyce August 12, 2008 - 3:52 pm

I have never read anything by Jane Green, but this book looks very interesting. I would enjoy a nice light read for the evenings.

Amy F. August 13, 2008 - 8:18 am

I have not yet read any of her books and after reading the summary, I shall now look her up! I would love to be entered for this giveaway though.

Tisha August 13, 2008 - 8:31 am

I have never read any of her books, but this one looks like one I would read. I like to read before bed because it is relaxing. Thanks you for the giveaway!

Keely August 13, 2008 - 9:38 am

I’ve read Jemima J and Mr. Maybe and really enjoyed them! I’ve also read a few other “beach books” titled the beach house or the lake house and just loved them, so I’m really excited to read Jane’s! Such a great title for a summer read 🙂 Thanks!

amy August 13, 2008 - 10:30 am

I haven’t yet read any of her books,but i might have to check them out now! i love a good book!

Mama Zen August 13, 2008 - 11:03 am

I haven’t read any, but this sounds excellent!

Mama Zens last blog post..Swim, Mommy, Swim!

Anne August 13, 2008 - 12:43 pm

I haven’t had the chance to read any of Ms. Green’s novels yet, but I would love too!

Thanks

Go Amie August 13, 2008 - 12:55 pm

I haven’t read any of Jane Green’s books, but this seems like a good one to start with.

Belinda P August 13, 2008 - 5:27 pm

I haven’t read any of her books so far. This but sounds like a great read. Please enter me. Thanks!

Cindi August 13, 2008 - 11:16 pm

Sounds like a fabulous story line and one that could possibly be movie material! I like at least one quirky character in a book. I have not read this author before, but I will now. Thanks for your wonderful take on the book. Please enter me in your delightful drawing. I really appreciate it…..Thanks, Cindi

Wendy August 13, 2008 - 11:34 pm

I haven’t ever read any, but will try anything at least once! That’s how I got hooked on Sophie Kinsella, after all!

Wendys last blog post..I Don’t Want to Be the Mommy Today!

Yan L. August 14, 2008 - 9:17 am

Am now currently looking her up, shamefully…Would love to be entered!

Pam August 14, 2008 - 10:04 am

I have not read any of Ms. Green’s books yet, but after looking over her website, I can see what a great author I’ve been missing out on. Next time I’m at the library, she’ll be on my list!

Thanks for offering the giveaway!

Rainbow Painter August 14, 2008 - 4:36 pm

Sounds quite interesting. I haven’t read Jane Green’s books yet. But I want to give it a try. Thanks for the cool review.

Gina Stratos August 14, 2008 - 4:39 pm

I have not read any of her books but would of course.

Michele August 14, 2008 - 6:42 pm

I read Bookends so long ago I can hardly remember it, but I know I liked it

Carla Pullum August 14, 2008 - 8:58 pm

I haven’t read any of her books but would love to read!!!

Susan C August 14, 2008 - 9:30 pm

Well I feel bad because I haven’t read any of her books, but this one sounds so good I am heading over to Amazon to see what else is available.

mommyknows August 15, 2008 - 1:31 am

I love, love, love Jane Green. I think this is the only book I haven’t read. Sounds fun!

mommyknowss last blog post..My Girl

michelle rosborough August 15, 2008 - 4:35 pm

I have not read any of Ms. Green’s books

yessenia August 16, 2008 - 3:01 am

i have not read any of her books but i’ve heard a LOT about them from a friend that loves her!! but i am interested in reading her books

Brooke August 16, 2008 - 9:10 am

I haven’t read any of her books, but I’d really like to.

Nancy August 16, 2008 - 6:53 pm

I have not had the opportunity to read any of Ms. Green’s books yet, so The Beach House would be the first for me. I enjoy book characters who are interesting and quirky and it sounds like Nan certainly qualifies for that characteristic! How fun that along with the book, the winner will receive a custom beach towel and a beach bag! It sounds perfect for an end-of-summer read-in! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

herblady August 16, 2008 - 7:56 pm

I have not read any of Mrs. Green’s books but I knew the first time I read a review of this one that that would have to change! This sounds like the kind of book I would enjoy very much and I just signed up for your feed as well, so please enter me in the drawing for it.
Thank you very much!

Comments are closed.